Zweden neemt voorzitterschap van TsjechiŽ over op 1 juli 2009 (en) - Politieke monitor

Politieke monitor
Maandag 20 januari 2020
Met dank overgenomen van Tsjechisch voorzitterschap Europese Unie 1e helft 2009†i, gepubliceerd op woensdag 1 juli 2009.

The main priorities of the Swedish Presidency include the fight against the consequences of the economic crisis and against climate change. Sweden and the preceding French and Czech Presidencies form the Trio Presidency.

The rotating Presidency of the Council of the European Union is held for six months by each Member State in turn. However, the Presidencies work in Trios so as to maintain the continuity in the running of the Council.

Presidency: Country holding the Presidency, Website:

Sweden 2nd half of 2009

Czech Republic 1st half of 2009

France 2nd half of 2008

Slovenia 1st half of 2008

Portugal 2nd half of 2007

Germany 1st half of 2007

Finland 2nd half of 2006

Austria 1st half of 2006

Great Britain 2nd half of 2005

Luxembourg 1st half of 2005

Netherlands 2nd half of 2004

Ireland 1st half of 2004